Now We Have Light
By Sanguine Hum

Disc Two

1. Just A Prelude

2. Cat Factory

3. On the Beach

4. End of the Line

5. Spanning the Eternal Abyss

6. Bubble Trouble

7. Settle Down


Disc One

1. Desolation Song

2. Drastic Attic

3. Getting Warmer

4. Out of Mind

5. Theft

6. "Shit"

7. Chat Show

8. Derision


Now We Have Light was the third Sanguine Hum album, following on from the acclaimed albums Diving Bell and the Weight of the World. A full-blown double CD concept album, the band had been working on this music for over a decade and its roots go back to the earliest days of Antique Seeking Nuns (Joff Winks and Matt Baber’s pre Sanguine Hum band). 

A future parable set in an entirely possible scenario, in which entirely impossible events start occurring, the concept is a twisted mix of Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy, Frank Zappa’s Joe’s Garage and the Lamb Lies Down On Broadway. This ambitious record was Sanguine Hum's most successful yet, being hailed as a "masterpiece" by John Kelman at All About Jazz.

Henry Fool and No-Man drummer, Andrew Booker returns and renowned UK jazz vibraphone player Jim Hart guests. 


Released February 23, 2015

Joff Winks – Vocals, Electric & Acoustic Guitar, Guitar Synth, Loops
Matt Baber – Rhodes, Synths, Hammond Organ, Loops
Brad Waissman – Bass Guitar, Double Bass
Andrew Booker – Drums

Special Guest
Jim Hart – Vibraphone (Spanning & Bubble Trouble) 

Recorded by Nick Moorbath and Joff Winks at Evolution studios, Oxford between June 2nd and 11th 2014. Assistant Engineer Jamie Morris. All other recording engineered by Joff Winks at Yellow Benteens, Oxfordshire, July to November 2014. 

Other elements retained from various sessions and studios 2002 to 2014. 

Design and illustration by Meriel Waissman.

Mastered by Tim Turan at Turan Audio, November 19th and 21st 2014.

Produced, Written, Arranged and Mixed by Sanguine Hum.