1. It's Pissing Don?

2. Little Machines

3. M.O.D.A.R

4. Keeny Woka Phoola

5. Earth Song with One Sugar


Mild Profundities (otherwise known as MP) is the first Antique Seeking Nuns, release as well as being the first ever CD on the Troopers For Sound label, and continues a musical rapport between Joff Winks and Matt Baber that had started when they were school children. A combined interest in musical artists as diverse as Frank Zappa, Aphex Twin, the Flaming Lips and Hatfield and the North acted as the bedrock for a series of open ended writing experiments that would lead to the creation of what is perhaps the most diverse release on Troopers for Sound thus far. MP can perhaps be seen as presenting the future directions of all the Troopers For Sound projects in one EP: there’s the, almost horrific, dark ambient electronica of MODAR that would be pursued in Nunbient, the blissful melodic and harmonic song structure of Little Machines that pointed the way towards Joff Winks Band (indeed, Little Machines would be reprised in a different arrangement for that band), and perhaps most dominant of all, the prog-rock meets post-rock instrumental pieces such as Earthsong and It’s Pissing Don that would play a major role in defining the Nuns’ sound as well as fueling part of the direction of Sanguine Hum. The range of music is extreme yet always feels connected to the same overriding spirit of exuberant experimentation – music made for no other reason than for the sheer excitement of hearing it. Added to this is a deviously silly sense of humour that sees random bursts of applause appearing mid song, strange munchkin voices imparting words of almost-wisdom, and the famous “deranged neighbour” who adds a chilling vocal performance to the end of the EP.


Released January 6, 2003

All compositions written and performed by Matt Baber and Joff Winks
Recorded July 2001 - 02 at Yellow Benteens, Oxfordshire
Drums on Earth Song recorded by Mike De Albuquerque

Mastered by Tim Turan at Turan Audio, Oxford, July 15th 2002.